Intellectual Wellness

“The measure of intelligence is the ability to change” -Albert Einstein

Intellectual wellness is being open minded, seeking out new challenges, thinking critically, and being creative. It’s important to do all of these things to better your life as a whole, and to bring a strong foundation into your learning and everyday growth.

In my opinion, being open minded is important because being close minded leaves no room for growth or expansion of a preexisting idea.

Image Source: http://spongebob.wikia.com/wiki/SpongeBob's_Brain
Image Source: http://spongebob.wikia.com/wiki/SpongeBob’s_Brain

I honestly believe that growth cannot happen if I don’t allow other people contribute their opinions, creativity, and/or perspective.  In addition, thinking critically allows us to reach a deeper thinking, that way we can approach an issue or objective with the appropriate attitude. “Others have seen what is and asked why. I have seen what could be and asked why not.” (Picasso 1895-1972). Creativity can make your approach to the issue/objective fun, interesting, and different. Seeking out challenges is arguably the most valuable part of achieving intellectual wellness, mainly due to the difference between seeking out the challenge and encountering the challenge. Seeking out the challenge keeps your mind sharp and builds upon an even stronger foundation for intellectual wellness.

In my own life, I accomplish intellectual wellness by trying to keep an open mind on things like school work and projects, that way everyone is included and the final outcome fits multiple peoples needs and wants. Away from school I try to see things from the other persons perspective and allow them to fully explain themselves. I also try to ask questions to clarify details before I respond, so my response is meaningful and useful. I try to stay creative anyway I can so what I create isn’t bland. I want to get better at seeking out challenges, because I have a tendency to avoid these challenges and they are so useful.

2 thoughts on “Intellectual Wellness”

  1. Sydney, another excellent post! Now, I will be using your blog as an example for what I want to see form students. You structure your post practically, write in a conversational tone, and do a great job embedding relevant quotes. Perfect.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *